About Rankin

The Rankin electorate is based on Yugambeh and Jaggera land, covering a large part of Logan City and several south west suburbs of Brisbane.

It includes Algester, Berrinba, Browns Plains, Calamvale, Crestmead, Daisy Hill, Drewvale, Heritage Park, Hillcrest, Kingston, Logan Central, Marsden, Meadowbrook, Parkinson, Priestdale, Regents Park, Rochedale South, Slacks Creek, Springwood, Underwood and Woodridge.

At the latest census, there were 167,883 people residing in Rankin, of which over 55,000 were born overseas.  With people from more than 180 homelands residing within its boundaries, we draw strength from being one of the most diverse multicultural communities in Australia.  

Named after Dame Annabelle Rankin (1908–86), the first Queensland woman elected to the Senate, Rankin has only had three federal members since it was formed in 1984.  Jim was preceded by The Hon David Beddall (Labor) 1984-98 and The Hon Craig Emerson (Labor) 1998-2013.